The Look for Less: Kenzo Tiger Sweater

I’m thinking about starting a new “series”, if you will, that addresses look-a-like designer pieces for a fraction of the price. If you’re a serial online shopper like me then you’ve probably already seen some of the top offenders on various websites. To be honest I’m not sure how I feel about them. They usually fall somewhere between using a designer as inspiration and just making a knockoff. I am a fan of the former, but not the later. So what do you guys think? Is it okay to just buy a cheaper version that looks the same with the only exception being the label?

For the first post you can see just how similar they can get. The Kenzo tiger sweater, I’ll admit, was (and still is) making me drool a little. It was all over fashion blogs and street style blogs, especially during this past fashion week. However, at a whopping $255, it’s a little out of my price range for just a sweater, especially one that’s this unique. As a general rule, I’d rather make investments on pieces that are basics, that I can mix in with almost any outfit (think of the cost-per-wear, that always helps me when deciding when to invest).

But as you can see, an almost identical version exists, thanks to Romwe. Take the Kenzo sweater and swap out “Kenzo” and “PARIS” for “LUNATIC BLUE” and add a seam in the sleeve and there it is, and for only $51.

So what are your thoughts? Worth buying now that it’s affordable? Or too close to being a knockoff?

Thanks for reading and I hope you’re having a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

